Messi v Ronaldo: Who has won more silverware?

Messi and Ronaldo have always fought to be the best. EFE

Messi v Ronaldo: Who has won more silverware?

Patrick Power by Patrick Power @rfutbol - 20 +31k

Leo Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo, the two best footballers on the planet who have shared a rivalry spanning the last decade. Who do you think is better? To answer the question, we take a look at their triumphs over the years.

Messi (30), born in Rosario, Argentina, has played for Barcelona since his debut in 2004 and is also the leader of his national team.

Cristiano (32), born in Madeira, Portugal, began at Sporting Lisbon in 2002, before being snapped up by United in 2004. He played for the Red Devils until he signed for Real Madrid in 2009. He is also the captain of Portugal.

These two men fight for the top spot and they play for teams who share a long-lasting rivalry. How many individual awards do they have?

Ballon d'Or: Leo Messi has five (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015) and Cristiano Ronaldo, four (2008, 2013, 2014 and 2016). 

The Best: The Barca man has not won this award and the Madrid star has done so twice in succession, in 2016 and 2017.

FIFA World Player: They have both won it once, Messi in 2009 and CR7 in 2008.

Golden Boot: Four wins apiece. The Argentine in 2009-10, 2011-12, 2012-13 and 2016-17, and the Portuguese player in 2007-08, 2010-11, 2013-14 and 2014-15.

La Liga top scorer: Again, four times each. Messi in 2009-10, 2011-12, 2012-13 and 2016-17), and Ronaldo in 2007-08, 2010-11, 2013-14 and 2014-15.

Champions League top scorer: Messi, five times, in 2008-09, 2009-10, 2010-11, 2011-12, 2014-15, and Ronaldo, six. In 2007-08, 2012-13, 2013-14, 2014-15, 2015-16, 2016-17.

Best player in Europe: Twice each. Messi in 2011 and 2015, and Cristiano, in 2014 and 2016.

National teams: Messi won the U20 World Cup in 2005 and the Olympic Games in 2008. Ronaldo won the European Championships in 2016.

Other awards: Messi won the I Trofeo Bravo (2007), Champions League MVP (2009), two Golden Balls in the Club World Cup (2009 and 2011) and the Golden Ball in the World Cup (2014). El Portuguese striker also won the I Trofeo Bravo (2004), Champions League MVP (2008) and won two Silver Balls in the Club World Cup (2008 and 2014).

They have lifted many individual awards, but also collective triumphs with their respective teams. Messi has 32 while Ronaldo has 24.

Champions League: four times each. The Barcelona striker did so in 2005-06, 2008-09, 2010-11 and 2014,15, and the Madrid man did in 2007-08, 2013-14, 2015-16 and 2016-17. 

Leagues: Messi has won La Liga eight times (2004-05, 2005-06, 2008-09, 2009-10, 2010-11, 2012-13, 2014-15 and 2015-16), while Cristiano has lifted the Premier League three times (2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09) and La Liga twice (2001-12, 2016-17). 

Copa del Rey/FA Cup: the Argentine has five Copas del Rey (2008-09, 2011-12, 2014-15, 2015-16 and 2016-17), and Ronaldo has two (2010-11 and 2013-14). CR7 also has two FA Cups (2010-11 and 2013-14).

Spanish Super Cup/Community Shield: Messi has seven 'Supercopas' (2005, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2013 and 2016) and Ronaldo, one (2012). El former Red Devils won the Community Shield twice (2007 and 2008) and the Spanish 'Supercopa' once (2017).

European Super Cup: Three times each. Messi in 2009, 2011 and 2015 and the Madrid man in 2014, 2016 and 2017. 

Club World Cup: The same thing with this trophy. Messi lifted it in 2009, 2011 and 2015 and Cristiano, in 2008, 2014 y 2016.

League Cup: The Barcelona forward hasn't won it and the Real Madrid man won it twice, in 2005-06 and 2008-09.

All these awards and titles make up the trophy cabinets of two huge world stars. Who is the best?

Patrick Power

Patrick Power

news 2,684 RANK 3
More news author

Follow BeSoccer on Facebook